Home > Contests, Girls Surfing > 2009 Billabong Junior Series champions to be crowned at Victoria Bay in September

2009 Billabong Junior Series champions to be crowned at Victoria Bay in September

August 21st, 2009


BJS74 - D4 - dale staples_winner u20

Pictured: Dale Staples shows the form that earned him the Billabong Junior Series Pro Junior title at Victoria Bay Photo: Clinton Theron / Billabong

2009 Billabong Junior Series
South Africa’s premier national junior surfing series
Scottburgh, Jeffreys Bay & Victoria Bay
April – September 2009

The 2009 Billabong Junior Series champions will be crowned at Victoria Bay next month when the third and final event in South Africa’s premier national tour for surfers aged 20-and-under is staged at the picturesque Southern Cape point-break from 23-26 September.

The 13th annual series champions in the Pro Junior (U20) men and women, U16, U14 and U12 boys’ divisions will join an elite group of surfers such as Jordy Smith, Royden Bryson, Ricky Basnett and David Weare who honed their competitive repertoires on the Billabong Junior Series before going on to qualify for the ASP Dream Tour.

The Vic Bay event will also determine the 2009 ASP Africa Pro Junior champions and features an ASP Grade 2, R80 000 Pro Junior men’s event and an ASP Grade 1, R20 000 Pro Junior women’s event. The top four men and top woman on the yearend ASP Africa ratings receive sought after invitations to the Billabong ASP World Junior Championships in Australia in January, the event that launched the careers of the likes of Joel Parkinson (AUS), Andy Irons (HAW) and Adriano de Souza (BRA).

Casey Grant (Scottburgh), winner of the first Billabong Pro Junior event of 2009 at his home-break in April, leads both the series and ASP Africa rankings going into the most important Pro Junior event of the year. Grant will be hard pressed to retain his lead by the outstanding current crop of local chargers that include local standout Shaun Joubert (Mossel Bay), who took the title at the Pro Junior event at Port Alfred in May and has been winning nationally rated events at Victoria Bay since his days in U12’s.

Others with the talent and form to challenge for honours include former Vic Bay winner Dale Staples (St Francis Bay), who recently finished third in the Billabong Pro Junior Bali against a world-class field, national junior surfing team captain Matthew Bromley and fellow Kommetjie ripper Brendon Gibbens and the likes of Chad du Toit (Durban) and Kyle Lane (Umhlanga).

Vic Bay local Bianca Buitendag, who triumphed in the first series event at Scottburgh, has the talent and local knowledge to clinch the event title and the series crown at her home-break, while ASP Africa ratings leader Sarah Baum (Athlone Park) will be hoping to earn the invitation to Australia for the second successive year.

Both will be eyeing the form of multiple event champion Tarryn Chudleigh (Kommetjie) who campaigned on the ASP Women’s World Qualifying Series (WQS) earlier this year and missed the Pro Junior women’s events in SA. Kirsty Delport (Durban), Heidi Palmboom (Bluff) and Tanika Hoffman (Kommetjie) are all potential event champions.

The highly competitive U16 boys’ division is wide open with the likes of recently crowned King of the Groms champion Davey Brand and fellow Kommetjie rippers Michael February, Jarred Veldhuis and Daniel Wilson strong contenders. They are joined by point-break experts such as Steven Sawyer (Jeffreys Bay) and Dane Staples (St Francis Bay) along with Scottburgh event winner David van Zyl (Glenashley), all of whom are red hot performers.

Benji Brand (Kommetjie), Slade Prestwich (Park Rynie), Diran Zakarian (Melkbosstrand) and Max Armstrong (Scarborough) head a particularly exciting group of U14 boys with Daniel Buitendag, winner of the Billabong Occy Grom Comp at Jeffreys Bay in July, bound to be in the mix at his home break.

The youngest division, the U12 boys, produces incredible surfing from the likes of Jordy Maree (Kalk Bay), Shane Sykes (Salt Rock), Ethan Fletcher (Kommetjie) and the fast improving Donovan Wichmann (Marina da Gama), the winner in J-Bay. Matthew McGillivray (PE), Steffen Burrows (Strand) and Jonah Paarman (Kommetjie) will also make their presence felt at Vic Bay.

The event will also feature the dazzling Von Zipper Air Show where selected contestants are rewarded for their expertise in performing aerial manoeuvres above the lip of the wave with the top performer earning the winner-takes-all R2 000 prize-purse.

Video footage, images, results and news will be available daily during the event at www.billabong.com and a TV documentary produced by Silver Bullet Productions will be broadcast on the channels of SuperSport.

The PST events in the Billabong Junior Series are sanctioned by Surfing South Africa (SSA), the national controlling body for the sport, while the internationally rated Pro Junior events are sanctioned by ASP Africa, the regional office for ASP International.

The series is proudly supported by First National Bank, Von Zipper and Kustom.

Online entries for the PST events can be made at www.billabong.com while the ASP events must be entered via www.aspafrica.com Please note that the closing date for the ASP Africa sanctioned Pro Junior events is next Tuesday, 25 August, while the PST events close two weeks prior to the event dates.

Billabong Events & Contest Coordinator Laureen Payne can be contacted for queries at 042 200 2600 or laureen.payne@billabong.co.za

The 2009 Billabong Junior Series started in Scottburgh (8-11 April) and continued with the inaugural Occy Grom Comp in Jeffreys Bay (9-15 July) before concluding at Victoria Bay (23-26 September) where the series champions will be crowned for the 13th time.


Issued on behalf of:

Billabong South Africa

Tel:                   042 200 2600
Fax:                  042 293 2478
Email:               laureen.payne@billabong.co.za

Compiled & Issued by:

Life’s a Beach Communications 
PO Box 48272, Kommetjie, 7976 South Africa
Tel / Fax:     +27 (0) 21 783 4965
Mobile:        +27 (0) 82 423 1964
Email:          lifesabeach@mweb.co.za

Comments are closed.