Archive for November, 2013

SA’s Top Stand Up Paddle-Boarders In Action At Coreban Summer Series at Bloubergstrand in December

November 28th, 2013 No comments

Coreban_Summer_Series_2013 - 600

The fifth annual edition of the three-day Coreban Summer Series, the country’s biggest multi-discipline Stand Up Paddle-boarding (SUP) event, will be held at Eden on the Bay, Bloubergstrand, from 14 to 16 December.

Featuring current and former SA champions, top internationals and world junior champions in wave-riding, technical In & Out and long distance racing disciplines, the event is a Stand Up Paddling SA (SUPSA) sanctioned trials event and there is also a team relay race, a tandem surfing challenge and prone paddling races.

The local contingent of Thomas King, Tarryn Kyte, the Bertish brothers – Greg and Chris – and sisters Penny Stemmet and Tammy Robarts, all of whom are previous South African champions, will be up against Durbanites Brandon and Grant-Lee Read, current SA champ and former Capetonian Justin Bing and Shelley Bradfield amongst others in the Open divisions.

Internationals Pete Petersen, Ivan van Vuuren, Pietro Muscas and Karina Figel will be going all-out to ensure the locals don’t have it all their own way and junior world champions Dylan Frick and Ethan Koopmans will be charging to keep the rest of the fired-up rising stars like Kimon Dos Santos, Josh Robertson, Mishka Steyn, Cameron Tripney and Nathan van Vuuren away from the silverware.

Entries can be made online at or at Xpression on the Beach in Muizenberg or Tableview. Entries cost R300 for the full series of disciplines or R150 for a single discipline. Join SUPSA at and receive a limited edition XOTB UV protection rash vest valued at R250.

In addition to Open Men’s and Women’s divisions there are also Legends, Divas, Juniors, Kids, Novice Men and Novice Women categories with plenty of trophies, valuable prizes and even spot prizes on offer.

Registration is between 15h00 and 18h00 on Friday 13 December at Xpression on the Beach Tableview where goody bags and race vests can be collected. The first event starts at 08h30 on the Saturday morning and the Prize-giving ceremony will be on the beach at 14h00 on the Monday. Competitors should have all their equipment on-hand each day as conditions may change and favour any of the disciplines.

Further information can be found at or from 021 709 0596


Issued on behalf of:

Coreban Stand Up Paddle Boarding
Contact: Gary van Rooyen
Tel: 021 709 0596

Compiled and Distributed by:

Life’s a Beach Communications
PO Box 48272, Kommetjie 7976, South Africa
Tel: +27 (0) 21 783 4965
Mobile: +27 (0) 82 423 1964

Buitendag and Prestwich into quarter-finals at HD World Junior Championships

November 2nd, 2013 No comments
Slade Prestwich (Durban) hits the lip on his way to the quarterfinals of the HD Women’s World Junior Championships in Brazil yesterday  Credit: ASP / Smorigo

Slade Prestwich (Durban) hits the lip on his way to the quarterfinals of the HD Women’s World Junior Championships in Brazil yesterday Credit: ASP / Smorigo

South Africa’s Bianca Buitendag and Slade Prestwich have advanced to their respective women’s and men’s quarter-finals in the HD World Junior Championships presented by Devassa, which is likely to crown the 2013 ASP World Junior Champions at Joaquina Beach in Florianopolis, Brazil today (Saturday).

Buitendag, ranked No. 8 on the ASP Women’s World Championship Tour (WCT), is the top seed for the women’s title and progressed to the last eight in the event by defeating South American Lucia Cosoleto (ARG) on Thursday. The 19 year-old from George faces Chelsea Tuach (Barbados) in the quarters when the contest resumes.

Prestwich, 18, took two solid heat victories on Friday, outpointing Hawaiian Keanu Asing (HAW), 20, and American Cam Richards (USA), 18, to secure his quarter-final berth and feels comfortable in the Joaquina Beach conditions similar to his local break in Durban.

“I was watching conditions before and saw the lefts were still going off the same bank off of the rock,” Prestwich said. “I thought I’d get my score there and then get over to the right, that’s where you can start doing the airs. I can’t wait til the wind starts hitting the rights better for air sections. Durban is almost exactly the same as this. I don’t think where I surf at home is any different.”

Prestwich will be up against local favourite and WCT standout Gabriel Medina (BRA), 18, in the quarters.

Event organizers will reconvene this morning at 7:30am local time for a possible 8am start and expect to crown both Men’s and Women’s champions by day’s end.

Watch the HD World Junior Championships presented by Devassa LIVE via starting at around 1pm SA time daily.

For additional ASP information log on to

QF 1: Matt Banting (AUS) vs. Michael Rodrigues (BRA)
QF 2: Oney Anwar (IDN) vs. Ramzi Boukhiam (MAR)
QF 3: Gabriel Medina (BRA) vs. Slade Prestwich (ZAF)
QF 4: Vehiatua Prunier (PYF) vs. Hiroto Ohhara (JPN)

QF 1: Tatiana Weston-Webb (HAW) vs. Frankie Harrer (USA)
QF 2: Chelsea Tuach (BRB) vs. Bianca Buitendag (ZAF)
QF 3: Mahina Maeda (HAW) vs. Ella Williams (NZL)
QF 4: Stephanie Single (AUS) vs. Johanne Defay (FRA)
Heat 9: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 17.40 def. Jake Sylvester (AUS) 17.34
Heat 10: Kanoa Igarashi (USA) 10.16 def. Ian Crane (USA) 9.77
Heat 11: Slade Prestwich (ZAF) 14.67 def. Keanu Asing (HAW) 10.70
Heat 12: Cam Richards (USA) 14.33 def. Dylan Lightfoot (ZAF) 11.56
Heat 13: Vehiatua Prunier (PYF) 11.33 def. Carlos Munoz (CRI) 9.93
Heat 14: Joshua Moniz (BRA) 11.84 def. Arashi Kato (JPN) 10.16
Heat 15: Jesse Mendes (BRA) 15.56 def. Nomme Mignot (FRA) 11.66
Heat 16: Hiroto Ohhara (JPN) 12.64 def. Kan Watanabe (JPN) 10.93

Heat 1: Matt Banting (AUS) 15.93 def. Reo Inaba (JPN) 5.86
Heat 2: Michael Rodrigues (BRA) 13.20 def. Juninho Urcia (PER) 7.13
Heat 3: Oney Anwar (IDN) 11.90 def. Vasco Ribeiro (PRT) 11.40
Heat 4: Ramzi Boukhiam (MAR) 10.26 def. Takumi Nakamura (JPN) 10.20
Heat 5: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 16.00 def. Kanoa Igarashi (USA) 12.20
Heat 6: Slade Prestwich (ZAF) 14.77 def. Cam Richards (USA) 8.03
Heat 7: Vehiatua Prunier (PYF) 11.67 def. JOshua Moniz (HAW) 7.90
Heat 8: Hiroto Ohhara (JPN) 13.60 def. Jesse Mendes (BRA) 12.77


Issued on behalf of:

ASP Africa
Contact: Colin Fitch – Operations Manager
Tel: 021 534 5738

Compiled & Distributed by:

Life’s a Beach Communications
PO Box 48272, Kommetjie 7976, South Africa
Tel: +27 (0) 21 783 4965
Mobile: +27 (0) 82 423 1964

About ASP: The Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) is the recognized world governing body of professional surfing and has been crowning surfing’s undisputed World Champions since 1976. The ASP sanctions and crowns World Champions for the following tours: the ASP World Tour, the ASP Women’s World Tour, ASP World Junior Tour, ASP World Longboard and Masters Championships. The ASP is dedicated to showcasing the world’s best surfing talent in a variety of progressive formats and has revolutionized the way the world watches surfing via their webcasts and other media platforms. The organization is divided into seven different regions: Africa, Japan, Australasia, Europe, Hawaii, North America, and South America.