Home > Contests, Girls Surfing > Border win Presidents Cup for the second year in a row at 2011 Billabong SA Championships

Border win Presidents Cup for the second year in a row at 2011 Billabong SA Championships

May 16th, 2011

Defending champions Border retained the coveted President’s Cup at the 2011 Billabong SA Surfing Championships which was completed in clean, offshore four foot surf at Seal Point in Cape St Francis on Sunday (May 15).

Not only did the team from East London win the 46th team title for the second year in a row but they also produced the Open Men’s champion in Greg Emslie, the runner up and Surfer of the Contest recipient Wayne Monk as well as the Women’s champion in Nikita Robb.

This was Emslie’s second title in a row and his fourth SA Championship victory. He joins George Thomopoulos on four SA Championship wins and one more will see him match Chris Knutsen.

Robb returned from competing on the World Qualifying Series to represent her beloved Border and it proved to be a good decision. 2010 National Team member Chantelle Rautenbach of Boland was second in the Women’s final.

Western Province surfer Nick Godfrey, who grew up surfing Seal Point, beat Steven Sawyer of Eastern Province to win his second Under 20 Boys crown in three years while Sarah Baum of KZN Central edged fellow National Junior Team member Bianca Buitendag of Southern Cape to take honours in the Under 20 Girls division.

The four new champions, who shared R30,000 in prize money, were awarded their trophies by Surfing South Africa President Mark Hoffman, Vice President Ant Brodowicz, Board Director Emile Zoetmulder and legendary coach Graham Hynes.

All the competitors earned 3A PST points by competing in the 2011 Billabong SA Championships.

Mark Hoffman presented the coveted Presidents Cup trophy to the Team Champions Border, who were also named as the team with the most spirit during the event. The East London side not only won the accolades and the bulk of the trophies but also took home ten cases of Carling Black Label from SAB for their efforts.

The Billabong SA Surfing Champs was proudly presented by Zigzag, fuelled by Monster, coordinated by Surfing South Africa, supported the Cape St Francis Resort and hosted by the Eastern Province Surfing Council.

Surfing South Africa is recognised by the SA Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) as the governing body for the sport and is a member of the International Surfing Association. (ISA)

Updated heat sheets, results and full image galleries available on www.surfingsouthafrica.co.za and on the official SA Champs 2011 media portal, hosted by: www.zigzag.co.za
Open Men
1st – Greg Emslie (Border)
2nd – Wayne Monk (Border)
3rd – Klee Strachan – (KZN Central)
4th- Casey Grant – (Southern KZN)

Open Women
1st – Nikita Robb (Border)
2nd – Chantelle Rautenbach (Boland)
3rd – Michelle Imeson (Southern KZN)
4th – Tasha Mentasti (Boland)

U20 Boys
1st- Nick Godfrey (W.P)
2nd – Steven Sawyer (E.P)
3rd – Matt Bromley (W.P)
4th – Dylan Lightfoot (E.P)

U20 Girls
1st – Sarah Baum (KZN Central)
2nd – Bianca Buitendag (Southern Cape)
3rd – Faye Zoetmulder (E.P)
4th – Emma Smith (E.P)

Surfer of the Contest
Wayne Monk (Border)

Team Spirit award

President’s Cup
1st – Border                                        43,464 points
2nd – KwaZulu-Natal Central              41,836 points
3rd – Eastern Province                          41,200 points
4th – Western Province                       39,844 points
5th – Southern KwaZulu-Natal            37,634 points  
6th – Boland                                         32,300 points
7th – Southern Cape                           29,630 points
8th – Zululand                                      19,910 points


From Surfing South Africa

Distributed by:

Life’s a Beach Communications
PO Box 48272, Kommetjie 7976, South Africa
Tel:              +27 (0) 21 783 4965
Fax:             +27 (0) 86 684 6250
Mobile:         +27 (0) 82 423 1964
Email:           lifesabeach@mweb.co.za

Comments are closed.