Home > ASP Tour, Contests > Dale Staples surfs into quarterfinals at Oakley ASP World Pro Junior in Bali

Dale Staples surfs into quarterfinals at Oakley ASP World Pro Junior in Bali

October 7th, 2010

Pictured: Dale Staples (St Francis Bay) tucks into a deep barrel at Keramas in Bali on his way to winning his Round 3 heat in the Oakley ASP World Pro Junior on Wednesday. Credit: © ASP / Robertson

South Africa’s Dale Staples has advanced to the quarterfinals of the Oakley ASP World Pro Junior in Bali, defeating the No. 3 seed Granger Larsen from Hawaii in their Round 4 heat held in epic two metre barreling waves at Keramas in Bali earlier today.

Staples, 19, from St Francis Bay continued his momentum from yesterday when he posted the highest single ride (9.80 out of 10) and combined two wave heat tally (16.63 out of 20) of the day while dispatching compatriot Chad du Toit (Berea, Durban) in their Round 3 match up.

In today’s outstanding conditions Staples posted a heat tally of 16.07 to oust Larsen and become the last of the seven ASP Africa members still in contention in the event after Shaun Joubert (Mossel Bay) was eliminated in his Round 4 clash by Caio Ibelli (BRA).

The event is the first of two on the inaugural ASP World Pro Junior Tour which will crown the ASP World Junior Champion in Sydney, Australia in January.

All the action can be followed LIVE at http://oakleyprojunior.com starting at approximately 2am South African time daily.


Heat 1:Nat Young (USA) 18.96 def. Tyler Newton (HAW) 15.50
Heat 2: Jack Freestone (AUS) 18.47 def. Kolohe Andino (USA) 15.24
Heat 3: Caio Ibelli (BRA) 15.40 def. Shaun Joubert (ZAF) 9.17
Heat 4: Conner Coffin (USA) 18.26 def. Krystian Kymerson (BRA) 2.83
Heat 5: Mitch Crews (AUS) 11.66 def. Charles Martin (GLP) 6.97
Heat 6: Kiron Jabour (HAW) 18.16 def. Alex Smith (HAW) 16.70
Heat 7: Dale Staples (ZAF) 16.07 def. Granger Larsen (HAW) 15.46
Heat 8: Evan Thompson (USA) 13.50 def. Davey Cathels (AUS) 10.47


QF 1: Nat Young (USA) vs. Jack Freestone (AUS)
QF 2: Caio Ibelli (BRA) vs. Conner Coffin (USA)
QF 3: Mitch Crews (AUS) vs. Kiron Jabour (HAW)
QF 4: Dale Staples (ZAF) vs. Evan Thompson (USA)

Digital Photographs:
High-resolution digital images for newspapers and Internet sites are available via the ASP Digital Images Department please contact kirstin@aspworldtour.com

Issued on behalf of:

ASP Africa
Contact: Colin Fitch – Operations Manager
Tel: 021 534 5738
Email: colin@aspafrica.com

Distributed by:

Life’s a Beach Communications
PO Box 48272, Kommetjie 7976, South Africa
Tel: +27 (0) 21 783 4965
Fax: +27 (0) 86 684 6250
Mobile: +27 (0) 82 423 1964
Email: lifesabeach@mweb.co.za

About ASP: The Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) is the recognized world governing body of professional surfing and has been crowning surfing’s undisputed World Champions since 1976. The ASP sanctions and crowns World Champions for the following tours: the ASP World Tour, the ASP Women’s World Tour, ASP World Junior Tour, ASP World Longboard and Masters Championships.

The ASP is dedicated to showcasing the world’s best surfing talent in a variety of progressive formats and has revolutionized the way the world watches surfing via their webcasts and other media platforms. The organization is divided into seven different regions: Africa, Japan, Australasia, Europe, Hawaii, North America, and South America.

Comments are closed.