Home > Contests, SSA > Great conditions on Day 2 of Cool Shoe South African Surfing Championships in Durban

Great conditions on Day 2 of Cool Shoe South African Surfing Championships in Durban

June 28th, 2013
Reigning SA Women’s Champion, Nikita Robb (Border) continued her winning form in Round 3 at the Cool Shoe SA Surfing Champs at Durban's New Pier today  Photo: © Karen / D-Vine Images

Reigning SA Women’s Champion, Nikita Robb (Border) continued her winning form in Round 3 at the Cool Shoe SA Surfing Champs at Durban’s New Pier today Photo: © Karen / D-Vine Images

Clear skies, light winds and a solid one metre swell greeted the competitors at New Pier in Durban for Day 2 of the Cool Shoe South African Surfing Championships, providing ideal conditions for high performance surfing by the country’s top surfers representing eight provincial teams.

Round 2 of all four divisions – Men, Women, U20 Boys and U20 Girls – were completed to determine who would join the surfers who advanced directly to Round 3 by winning their heats yesterday, before the Women’s and U20 Girls’ semi-finalists were decided and the Prime Trials run.

Former World Tour campaigner and defending SA Women’s champion Nikita Robb (Border) was the standout performer in Women’s Round 3, comfortably winning her heat to advance to the semis along with second placed Faye Zoetmulder (EP) with SA Masters champ Tasha Mentasti and Kat Steffen (KZNC) eliminated from the event.

Robb and Zoetmulder will be joined in the last six by Heather Clark (SKZN), Lynne Mackey (KZNC) and the Western Province pair of Tarryn Chudleigh and Tanika Hoffman.

A new U20 Girls champion will be crowned this year after 2012 champ Heidi Palmboom (KZNC) finished third in her Round 3 heat behind teammate Nicole Pallet and Roxy Giles (Southern Cape). Those two plus Eastern Province sisters Emma and Gina Smith and SA Junior team members Anoush Zakarian (Boland) and Chanelle Botha (SKZN) will contest the semi-finals tomorrow.

In the Men’s division, Clinton Gravett (Border) celebrated his birthday by bouncing back into contention and moving into Round 3 along with fellow heat winners Llewellyn Whittaker (SC), Gary van Wieringen (SKZN and Neil Zietsman (WP) and their respective runners-up.

There were also few upsets in Round 2 of theU20 Boys where JP Olivier(Bol), Michael Monk (Bor), Slater Rudling and Southern KZN teammate Dylan Gouws won their heats to progress to Round 3, joining those who finished first or second in their opening encounters yesterday.

Today’s proceedings were completed with the Prime Trials featuring 10 of SA’s top emerging talents battling for the last two spots in the 96 man field for the ASP Prime rated Mr Price Pro Ballito which starts on Monday.

Former Mr Price Pro runner-up Casey Grant and fellow KZN South Coast standout Frankie Oberholzer were surprisingly ousted in Round 1 and former ASP Top 30 campaigner Brandon Jackson (Durban North) could not advance out of his semi-final. Young guns Slade Prestwich (Scottburgh), who won the VQS international in Fiji earlier this month, and SA Junior team captain Dylan Lightfoot (Jeffreys Bay) finished first and second respectively to clinch the coveted spots in SA’s biggest and most lucrative international event of 2013.

Saturday’s action at the Cool Shoe SA Surfing champs will see Rounds 3 and 4 of the U20 Boys’ and Men’s divisions completed before the semi-finals for the U20 Girls and Women are run.

The Cool Shoe SA Surfing Championships concludes on Sunday 30 June when the top performers in all four individual divisions will be awarded gold, silver, bronze and copper medals and the country’s top provincial team will celebrate winning the newly refurbished and gleaming President’s Cup at an awards ceremony on the beach around 12 noon.

All the results and the schedule for each day of the event can be found at www.surfingsouthafrica.co.za.


About The Cool Shoe Corporation

“The essence of Cool Shoe is based on our love of the ocean, fashion and extreme sports.”
Straight out of America’s surf skate and snow heartland, the COOL SHOE CORPORATION has been walking, running, hiking and trekking the planet since 1980. COOL SHOE made it big when an American company reached an agreement with a French company to develop the product in Europe.
In 1984 a French firm decided to innovate and revolutionize “flip flops” resulting in the concept of a rocking chair “Cool Original” flip flop with its rounded and large shape.
Then, and now, our product designers remain true to the original concept that made the brand famous: Creative originality and quality.
Cool Shoe is sponsoring the SA Surfing Champs because it’s the cool thing to do, helping surfing grow whilst creating brand awareness.
Cool Shoe products are available at selected stores in Pretoria, Johannesburg, Cape Town, Jeffreys Bay and Durban.
For more information go to www.cool-shoe.com or contact Georgia Carpenter on georgie1@live.co.za

About Surfing South Africa
Surfing South Africa (SSA) is recognised by the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and the International Surfing Association (ISA) as the governing body for the sport in South Africa.
SSA is made up of eight provinces: Boland, Border, Eastern Province, KwaZulu-Natal Central, Southern Cape, Southern KZN, Western Province and Zululand.
The South African Bodyboarding Association, the South African Longboarding Association, Stand Up Paddle South Africa and USASSA (student surfing) are all affiliated to Surfing South Africa.
SSA sanctions the annual Pro Surf Tour (PST), coordinates and runs National Surfing Championships, selects National teams and is responsible for the administration of the sport.
Issued on Behalf of:

Surfing South Africa
Contact: Robin de Kock – General Manager
Mobile: 082 454 1149
Email: surfingsouthafrica@gmail.com

Compiled & Distributed by:

Life’s a Beach Communications
PO Box 48272, Kommetjie 7976, South Africa
Tel: +27 (0) 21 783 4965
Mobile: +27 (0) 82 423 1964
Email: lifesabeach@mweb.co.za

Comments are closed.