Home > Contests, Girls Surfing, SSA, WSL > Jordy Smith Headlines World-Class Field for Ballito Pro Starting on Monday

Jordy Smith Headlines World-Class Field for Ballito Pro Starting on Monday

June 26th, 2016
Jordy Smith is the top seed for the 2016 Ballito Pro that runs from 27 June to 3 July at Willard Beach in KwaDukuza Photo: WSL / Sloane 

Jordy Smith is the top seed for the 2016 Ballito Pro that runs from 27 June to 3 July at Willard Beach in KwaDukuza Photo: WSL / Sloane

South Africa’s own Jordy Smith headlines a world-class field for Ballito Pro presented by Billabong which runs from Monday 27 June to Sunday 3 July at Willard Beach in Ballito.

The first World Surf League (WSL) Qualifying Series QS10,000 rated event to be staged in 2016, the Ballito Pro has attracted entries from a dozen of the elite top 34 ranked surfers on the WSL Championship Tour (CT), along with another 100 international and local competitors who will be vying for a share of the R4 million prize-purse and the maximum rankings points for a QS event.

Smith, the current world No. 10, the 2010 Ballito champion and 2013 runner-up, is determined to give his South African fans plenty to cheer about this year after an injury affected first round exit from his only QS appearance in home surf last year.

“The Ballito Pro is a great event and my win in 2010 is a really special memory,’ said Smith who has been competing in the world’s longest running professional surfing event since 2003. “I always want to win so badly in front of everyone at home and the support is always so crazy that I try extra hard.”

The top 10 seeds for the 48th edition of the event that started out as the Durban 500 in 1969 include Brazilians Caio Ibelli, Miguel Pupo, Jadson Andre and defending event winner Alejo Muniz; Australians Davey Cathels, Jack Freestone and Matt Banting; Californian Kanoa Igarashi and Jeremy Flores of Reunion Island.

Other internationals to watch out for include former event winners Tim Reyes (USA), American brothers Pat and Tanner Gudauskas, current QS rankings leader Leonardo Fioravanti (ITA) and world No. 6 Sebastian Zietz (HAW).

Alongside Smith, the South African challenge for the title will come from Beyrick de Vries from nearby uMhlanga, who is the 53rd seed; Michael February (Kommetjie), the highest QS ranked local, who is nursing an ankle injury; and Dale Staples (St Francis Bay). Jeffreys Bay residents Dylan Lightfoot and Matt McGillivray have been awarded the wildcards that go to the country’s two highest ranked QS surfers who do not automatically qualify for the event.

The final slot in the main event goes to the winner of the all South African, 32-man SSA Ballito Pro Trials presented by Billabong, which is being run today (Sunday) at Willard Beach.

The QS1,000 rated Ballito Women’s Pro presented by Billabong starts today and will run in conjunction with the men’s event.

While the surfers ride the waves, the Ballito Pro Festival is set to turn up the heat in KwaDukuza by offering the best in beach, music and sports entertainment. Locals and holiday-makers will be spoilt for choice with the week-long festival featuring the ‘Fire up your stoke: Night of food & wine’, an extreme sports programme and an exciting retail area, while the Five Star Ballito Pro Free Music Concerts powered by 5FM bring some of South Africa’s most talented music acts to the stage in Salt Rock.

See more information at www.theballitopro.co.za
The Ballito Pro presented by Billabong is proudly supported by the KwaDukuza Municipality, Billabong, 5FM, Monster Energy, Zigzag Surfing Magazine, World Surf League (WSL) and Surfing South Africa (SSA).


NB: High resolution images are available on demand for media outlets

About the World Surf League
The World Surf League (WSL), formerly the Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP), is dedicated to celebrating the world’s best surfing on the world’s best waves through a variety of best-in-class audience platforms. The League, headquartered in Santa Monica, is a truly global sport with regional offices in Australasia, Africa, North America, South America, Hawaii, Japan and Europe.

The WSL has been championing the world’s best surfing since 1976, running global events across the Samsung Galaxy Men’s and Women’s Championship Tours, the Big Wave Tour, Qualifying Series, Junior and Longboard Championships, as well as the WSL Big Wave Awards. The League possesses a deep appreciation for the sport’s rich heritage while promoting progression, innovation and performance at the highest levels.

Showcasing the world’s best surfing on its digital platform at WorldSurfLeague.com as well as the free WSL app, the WSL has a passionate global fan base with millions tuning in to see world-class athletes like Mick Fanning, John John Florence, Stephanie Gilmore, Greg Long, Gabriel Medina, Carissa Moore, Makua Rothman, Kelly Slater, Adriano de Souza and more battle on the most unpredictable and dynamic field of play of any sport in the world.

Surfing South Africa
The Ballito Pro, Ballito Women’s Pro, SSA Trials and Billabong Junior Series are registered with Surfing South Africa, recognised by the Dept. of Sport and Recreation as the national controlling body for the sport and a member of the SA Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC).

Issued on behalf of:

WSL Africa
Contact: Colin Fitch – Operations Manager
Tel: 082 699 4493
Email: cfitch@worldsurfleague.com

Compiled & Distributed by:

Life’s a Beach Communications
Tel: +27 (0) 21 783 4965
Mobile: +27 (0) 82 423 1964
Email: lifesabeach@mweb.co.za

KwaDukuza Municipality and Organiser of the Ballito Pro Festival
Contact: Collette Bundy
Mobile: 072 287 9839
Email: collettebundy0@gmail.com

For more information about the beach and food festivals plus the music concerts please contact:

Olivia Jones Communications
Cell: 083 653 1720
Work: 031 303 9341
Email: media@oliviajones.co.za


Comments are closed.