Home > Contests, Girls Surfing, WSL > Masencamp and Slijpen Take Men’s Titles at Zigzag Durban Surf Pro pres. by G-Force

Masencamp and Slijpen Take Men’s Titles at Zigzag Durban Surf Pro pres. by G-Force

May 20th, 2018

Adin Masencamp (Strand, red vest) and Luke Slijpen (Hout Bay, white vest)) won the Men’s and Junior Men’s titles at the Zigzag Durban Surf Pro pres. by G-Force on Sunday Photo: WSL / Thurtell

Capetonians Adin Masencamp (Strand) and Luke Slijpen (Hout Bay) mastered the testing conditions to take the men’s and junior men’s titles respectively at the Zigzag Durban Surf Pro pres. by G-Force at North Beach in Durban on Sunday.

The stiff onshore winds turned the contest area into a maelstrom of whitewater and the inclement weather kept the crowds away on the final day of the fourth event of 13 on the 2018 World Surf League (WSL) Qualifying Series (QS) and the third of five on City Surf Series. But the surfing performances produced by the men and junior men (18-and-under) remained red hot with multiple rides in the excellent range (8.0 or more out of 10)

Masencamp and Slijpen were the form surfers on the final day with the former delivering the two highest heat totals, 15.75 and 15.25 (each out of 20), in Round 4 and the semi-finals, while Slijpen produced a near-perfect ride that was awarded 9.0 by the judges in his semi-final.

The men’s final was an anti-climax after the great surfing that went on earlier with current WSL Africa rankings leader Jordy Maree (Kalk Bay) and Masencamp only managing to produce short rides as they searched the length and breadth of North Beach.

With five minutes remaining and Maree holding the lead with a heat high 5.25, Masencamp found a wave that produced some workable sections and the 18 year-old from the Strand smashed an 8.0 point score. Along with his backup of 2.90, Masencamp’s 10.90 heat tally was enough for him to clinch his first QS event title in South Africa.

“It was a very tricky final and I didn’t have a great start,” Masencamp explained. “In the beginning Jordy had better waves, but then a bomb came through and I capitalised on it.
This win has been a long time coming. I’ve had three finals and this is third time lucky. I’m super stoked to take the win, it means a lot to me.”

Maree continued to chase more waves and added a 4.0 to his tally but he was unable to overtake Masencamp’s total and had to settle for second place, which ensured that he retained his lead in the regional rankings.

On his way to the final Masencamp eliminated local favourite and top seed David van Zyl (Glenashley) in a high scoring, man-on-man semi-final and also finished in first place in a stacked Round 4 heat that included van Zyl, Steven Sawyer (Jeffreys Bay) and Ethan Fletcher (Kommetjie).

Maree’s path to the final included ousting Durban local Chad du Toit in their semi clash after heading a Round 4 lineup that included du Toit and Jeffreys Bay residents Joshe Faulkner and Dylan Lightfoot.

Slijpen, who has honed his skills in the frigid waters and hollow waves of Llandudno on the Cape Peninsula, earned his maiden WSL Junior Qualifying Series (JQS) title in just his third appearance in a final. He posted a narrow victory over Bryce du Preez (East London), Aya Gericke (Wilderness) and Calvin Goor (Salt Rock).

The win saw him leapfrog into the lead on the WSL Africa JQS rankings where he has set his sights on finishing in the top four at year end to secure a spot in the squad that will represent the region in the WSL World Junior Championship in Australia in January.

Slijpen will also be hoping to carry his form into the next event on the WSL Africa schedule, the Vans Surf Pro Classic that runs from 1 to 3 June at YoYo’s in Lamberts Bay. He finished third in his semi-final last year at the wave that is touted as the ‘Trestles of Africa’ due to its high performance characteristics.

The women’s champions in the Zigzag Durban Surf Pro pres. by G-Force were crowned on Saturday with Zoe McDougall (Hawaii) successfully defending her QS1,000 women’s title and Kai Woolf (Jeffreys Bay) clinching her third consecutive JQS1,000 event win of the year.

Full results, photos and video footage will be available on www.WorldSurfLeague.com and on the WSL App, with highlights on the WSL QS Facebook, Twitter and Instagram accounts.

Zigzag Durban Surf Pro pres. by G-Force – Men’s Final
1. Adin Masencamp (Strand) 10.90 points
2. Jordy Maree (Kalk Bay) 9.25

Zigzag Durban Surf Pro pres. by G-Force – Junior Men’s Final
1. Luke Slijpen (Hout Bay) 11.50 points
2. Bryce du Preez (East London) 9.75
3. Aya Gericke (Knysna) 7.05
4. Calvin Goor (Salt Rock) 6.50

Zigzag Durban Surf Pro pres. by G-Force – Men’s Semi-Finals
SF1: Adin Masencamp (Strand) 15.25 def. David van Zyl (Glenashley) 12.50
SF2: Jordy Maree (Kalk Bay) 13.35 def. Chad du Toit (Durban) 12.65

WSL Africa Rankings (After Zigzag Durban Surf Pro pres. by G-Force)

Men                                        Pts   Prize Money

1 Jordan Maree (Kalk Bay) 2705 R29 400
2 David Van Zyl (Glenashley) 2280 R44 500
3 Adin Masencamp (Strand) 2170 R32 000
4 Dylan Lightfoot (Jeffreys Bay) 1795 R12 500
5 Diran Zakarian (Melkbosstrand) 1430 R4 250

Junior Men
1 Luke Slijpen (Hout Bay) 1955 R10 500
2 Dillon Hendricks (Jeffreys Bay) 1580 R8 000
3 Bryce Du Preez (East London) 1575 R6 000
4 Luke Thompson (Durban) 1500 R8 000
5 Max Elkington (Kommetjie) 1470 R5 000

1 Nicole Pallet (La Lucia) 2610 R14 250
2 Kai Woolf (Jeffreys Bay) 2330 R12 000
3 Zoe Steyn (East London) 2290 R9 400
4 Teal Hogg (Shakas Rock) 1840 R5 400
5 Emma Smith (Jeffreys Bay) 1535 R3 000

Junior Women
1 Kai Woolf (Jeffreys Bay) 3000 R12 000
2 Kirsty McGillivray (Jeffreys Bay) 1540 R2 800
3 Zoe Steyn (East London) 1515 R2 600
4 Olivia Izzard (La Lucia) 1225 R1 500
5 Sophie Bell (Salt Rock) 1170 R2 600


About WSL
The World Surf League (WSL) is dedicated to celebrating the world’s best surfing on the world’s best waves through a variety of best-in-class audience platforms. The League, headquartered in Santa Monica, is a global sport with regional offices in Australasia, Africa, North America, South America, Hawaii, Japan and Europe.

The WSL has been championing the world’s best surfing since 1976, annually running in excess of 180 global events across the Men’s and Women’s Championship Tours, the Big Wave Tour, Qualifying Series, Junior and Longboard Championships, as well as the WSL Big Wave Awards. The League possesses a deep appreciation for the sport’s rich heritage while promoting progression, innovation and performance at the highest levels, and in doing so crowns the undisputed world champions in Men’s, Women’s across all divisions within the tour.

Showcasing the world’s best surfing on its digital platform at WorldSurfLeague.com as well as the free WSL app, the WSL has a passionate global fan base with millions tuning in to see world-class athletes like Tyler Wright, John John Florence, Paige Alms, Kai Lenny, Taylor Jensen, Honolua Blomfield, Mick Fanning, Stephanie Gilmore, Kelly Slater, Carissa Moore, Gabriel Medina, Courtney Conlogue and more battle on the most unpredictable and dynamic field of play of any sport in the world.

For more information, please visit WorldSurfLeague.com

About Surfing South Africa
Surfing South Africa is recognised governing body for Surfing in South Africa by the Department of Sport and Recreation. SSA is a member of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and the International Surfing Association (ISA).

Issued on behalf of:

WSL Africa
Contact: Colin Fitch – Operations Manager
Tel: 021 534 5738
Email: cfitch@worldsurfleague.com

Compiled & Distributed by:

Life’s a Beach Communications
PO Box 48272, Kommetjie 7976, South Africa
Tel: +27 (0) 21 783 4965
Mobile: +27 (0) 82 423 1964
Email: lifesabeach@mweb.co.za


Comments are closed.