Home > Uncategorized > Three SA surfers eliminated from Reef Hawaiian Pro; Bryson & Logie yet to surf

Three SA surfers eliminated from Reef Hawaiian Pro; Bryson & Logie yet to surf

November 19th, 2009

AAW91119 - tower9801reefm09cestari_l - 500

Thursday 19 November 2009 – South Africans Brandon Jackson, Rudy Palmboom Jnr. and Damien Fahrenfort were eliminated from the 6-Star Prime rated Reef Hawaiian Pro yesterday, leaving only Royden Bryson and Travis Logie still in contention in the penultimate event on the 2009 ASP World Qualifying Series (WQS) and the first event in the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing.

The event got underway last Thursday on the first day of the 12-day waiting period, with former Capetonian Fahrenfort advancing to the Round of 96 when he placed a comfortable second in his opening encounter held in wind affected 1 to 1.5 metre waves at Haleiwa.

Five consecutive days with strong winds, plenty of rain and small waves saw the event remain on hold until yesterday when the balance of the Round of 128 and the first 14 (of 16) heats in the Round of 96 were run in clean one metre surf.

Palmboom, 21, from the Bluff demonstrated the experience he gained from a great run in the corresponding event last year, easily winning his opening heat to join Fahrenfort in the last 96, along with Jackson (Durban North) and Bryson (Cape Town), both of whom were seeded to start in that round.

Fahrenfort was the first to be ousted, placing third in his heat behind Hawaiian standout Bruce Irons and emerging Brazilian star Alejo Muniz. Jackson could not find a second high-scoring ride to add to his best ride of 5.57 out of 10 and placed fourth. Palmboom suffered a similar fate when, needing a score of 6.10 to finish second and advance, he fell just short with a ride of 5.50 points.

The result is a blow to Jackson’s hopes of qualifying for the elite ASP World Tour for 2010. Rated No. 20 on the WQS going into this event, Jackson now needs a minimum of a semi-final finish at the last event of the 2009 season, the 6-Star Prime rated O’Neill World Cup of Surfing which starts 10 Kms away at Sunset Beach next Tuesday, to have any chance of finishing in the top 15 on the yearend ratings.

Bryson will start his campaign in the Haleiwa event in Heat No.15, the first heat to be run when competition resumes, while Logie (Durban), currently ranked No. 10 on the WQS but as yet not assured of a spot in the top 15 at yearend, gets his challenge underway in Heat No. 3 of the Round of 64.

The waiting period for the Reef Hawaiian Pro runs until Monday 23 November and all the action can be followed on the live webcast at www.triplecrownofsurfing.com where there are also videos of every heat already run. Note that Hawaii is 12 hours behind South Africa, e.g. 8am in Hawaii is 8pm in SA.



Round of 128: Results shown in order of 1st place through 4th. 1st & 2nd advance

H12: Rudy Palmboom (ZAF), Hodei Collazo (EUK), Izuki Tanaka (JPN), Kai Barger (HAW)
H13: Sunny Garcia (HAW), Shaun Ward (USA), Christophe Allary (REU), Danny Fuller
H14: Adam Robertson (AUS), Ola Eleogram (HAW), Dane Gudauskas (USA), Bruno Rodrigues (USA)
H15: Ruben Gonzalez (PRT), Jesse Merle-Jones (HAW), Jack Perry (AUS), Ross Williams (HAW)
H16: Yuri Sodre (BRA), Torrey Meister (HAW), Dylan Graves (PRI), Kamalei Alexander (HAW)

Round of 96:
H1: Granger Larsen (HAW), Jarrad Howse (AUS), Nathaniel Curran (USA), Dylan Melamed (HAW)
H2: Bruce Irons (HAW), Alejo Muniz (BRA), Damien Fahrenfort (ZAF), Pablo Paulino (BRA)
H3: Flynn Novak (HAW), Taylor Lincoln (AUS), Brad Ettinger (USA), Drew Courtney (AUS)
H4: Cory Lopez (USA), Jay Thompson (AUS), Dylan Goodale (HAW), Brandon Jackson (ZAF)
H5: James Taipan Wood (AUS), Evan Valiere (AUS), Leonardo Neves (BRA), Luke Munro (AUS)
H6: Joel Centeio (HAW), Nathan Hedge (AUS), Miguel Pupo (BRA), Nic Muscroft (AUS)
H7: Andre Silva (BRA), Marcia Farney (BRA), Jihad Khodr (BRA), Yadin Nicol (BRA)
H8: Tanner Gudauskas (USA), Leigh Sledley (AUS), Luke Campbell (AUS), Raoni Monteiro (BRA)
H9: Nathan Yeomans (USA), Hank Gaskell (USA), Gony Zubrieta (ESP), Heat Joske (AUS)
H10: Alain Riou (PYF), Aritz Aranburu (EUK), Shaun Gossman (AUS), Gavin Gillette (HAW)
H11: Hodei Collazo (EUK), Brian Toth (PRT), Neco Padaratz (BRA), TJ Barron (HAW)
H12: Dion Atkinson (AUS), Marco Polo (BRA), Rudy Palmboom (ZAF), Jason Shibata (HAW)
H13: Sunny Garcia (HAW), Bernardo Miranda (BRA), Ola Eleogram (HAW), Thiago Camaro (BRA)
H14: Clay Marzo (HAW), Tim Reyes (USA), Adam Robertson (AUS), Shaun Ward (USA)

South Africa’s Rosanne Hodge (East London), currently rated No. 9 on the 2009 ASP Women’s World Tour, will also be in action in the event at Haleiwa in the Vans Hawaiian Pro, a specialty event featuring the ASP top 16 ranked females plus four wildcards.

For more information on the ASP Africa members, including profiles and rankings, visit www.aspafrica.com


Issued on behalf of:

ASP Africa
Contact: Colin Fitch – Operations Manager
Tel: 021 534 5738
Email: aspafrica@mweb.co.za

Compiled & Distributed by:

Life’s a Beach Communications
PO Box 48272, Kommetjie 7976, South Africa
Tel: +27 (0) 21 783 4965
Fax: +27 (0) 86 684 6250
Mobile: +27 (0) 82 423 1964
Email: lifesabeach@mweb.co.za

About ASP:

The Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) is the governing body of professional surfing. Crowning surfing’s undisputed world champions since 1976, the ASP sanctions the following tours: the ASP World Tour, the ASP Women’s World Tour, the World Qualifying Series (WQS) and the World Longboarding, Junior and Masters Championships. The ASP is dedicated to showcasing the world’s best surfing talent in a variety of progressive formats and has revolutionized the way the world watches surfing via their webcasts. The organization is divided into seven different regions: Africa, Asia, Australasia, Europe, Hawaii, North America, and South America.

Comments are closed.