Home > Contests, Girls Surfing, WSL > Top Seeds Dominate Opening Rounds of Zigzag Durban Surf Pro pres. by G-Force

Top Seeds Dominate Opening Rounds of Zigzag Durban Surf Pro pres. by G-Force

May 18th, 2018

Zoe McDougall (Hawaii) delivered a stunning performance in the last heat of the opening day at the Zigzag Durban Surf Pro pres. by G-Force Photo: WSL / Thurtell

The top ranked competitors justified their seeding in the Zigzag Durban Surf Pro pres. by G-Force with all but two out of 24 advancing to the next round of their respective events on the opening day the World Surf League (WSL) Qualifying Series (QS) events at North Beach in Durban.

Classic conditions and small but contestable one metre waves prompted the organisers to get stop No. 4 of 13 in the WSL Africa Qualifying Series (QS) underway at 7 am. A total of 24 heats were completed starting with QS 1,000 Men’s and Women’s events and followed by the Junior Qualifying Series (JQS) Men’s and Women’s heats for surfers 18-and-under which closed out the day’s action.

KwaZulu-Natal locals reveled in their home surf with veteran campaigners Brandon Jackson (Durban North) and Dan Redman (uMdloti) both blasting their way through two rounds to reach the last 32 in the men’s event.

Rising star Bryce Burness (Berea) bagged a pair of seven point rides to post a heat total of 14.75, the highest of the day in the men’s event while Capetonians Luke Slijpen (Hout Bay), Ford van Jaarsveldt and Max Elkington (both Kommetjie) all racked up heat wins.

Defending women’s event winner Zoe McDougall (Hawaii) and Josefina Ane (Argentina), winner of the second series stop in Port Alfred in March, got their campaigns underway with comfortable victories. But it was Nicole Pallet (La Lucia), the highest ranked South African in the women’s field who delivered the highest heat total of the round with 12.50 out of a possible 20.

Only two junior men’s heats were run which saw Mitch du Preez (East London) and Karl Steen (Durban) top their Round 1 heats and advance to the last 16 alongside their respective heat runners-up in Daniel Orpen (Knysna) and Daniel Emslie (East London).

McDougall produced a stunning display of competitive surfing in her junior women’s heat, the last to be run on the day, posting a near-perfect score of 9.25 to go with an earlier excellent 8.75 for an superb heat tally of 18.0. The Hawaiian, who spends a significant amount of time in Jeffreys Bay with her partner Matt McGillivray, also earned scores of 7.75 and 6.50, which did not even factor into her two counting rides.

WSL Africa junior women’s rankings leader Kai Woolf (Jeffreys Bay) eased her way into the last eight with a comprehensive heat win and was joined by fellow heat winners Kirsty McGillivray (Jeffreys Bay), the current No. 2, and Kayla Nogueira (uMhlanga), the defending event winner.

Organisers will meet at North Beach at 7.00 am local time on Saturday to make a call on when to get the contest underway. The women’s and junior women’s event champions will be crowned on Saturday afternoon while the men’s and junior men’s winners will be determined on Sunday.

Live scoring, results, photos and video footage will be available on www.WorldSurfLeague.com and on the WSL App, with highlights on the WSL QS Facebook, Twitter and Instagram accounts.


About WSL
The World Surf League (WSL) is dedicated to celebrating the world’s best surfing on the world’s best waves through a variety of best-in-class audience platforms. The League, headquartered in Santa Monica, is a global sport with regional offices in Australasia, Africa, North America, South America, Hawaii, Japan and Europe.

The WSL has been championing the world’s best surfing since 1976, annually running in excess of 180 global events across the Men’s and Women’s Championship Tours, the Big Wave Tour, Qualifying Series, Junior and Longboard Championships, as well as the WSL Big Wave Awards. The League possesses a deep appreciation for the sport’s rich heritage while promoting progression, innovation and performance at the highest levels, and in doing so crowns the undisputed world champions in Men’s, Women’s across all divisions within the tour.

Showcasing the world’s best surfing on its digital platform at WorldSurfLeague.com as well as the free WSL app, the WSL has a passionate global fan base with millions tuning in to see world-class athletes like Tyler Wright, John John Florence, Paige Alms, Kai Lenny, Taylor Jensen, Honolua Blomfield, Mick Fanning, Stephanie Gilmore, Kelly Slater, Carissa Moore, Gabriel Medina, Courtney Conlogue and more battle on the most unpredictable and dynamic field of play of any sport in the world.

For more information, please visit WorldSurfLeague.com

About Surfing South Africa
Surfing South Africa is recognised governing body for Surfing in South Africa by the Department of Sport and Recreation. SSA is a member of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and the International Surfing Association (ISA).


Issued on behalf of:

WSL Africa
Contact: Colin Fitch – Operations Manager
Tel: 021 534 5738
Email: cfitch@worldsurfleague.com

Compiled & Distributed by:

Life’s a Beach Communications
PO Box 48272, Kommetjie 7976, South Africa
Tel: +27 (0) 21 783 4965
Mobile: +27 (0) 82 423 1964
Email: lifesabeach@mweb.co.za


Comments are closed.