Home > ASP Tour, Contests > Travis Logie and Jordy Smith win Round 1 heats at Billabong Pro Tahiti

Travis Logie and Jordy Smith win Round 1 heats at Billabong Pro Tahiti

August 21st, 2011

South African surfers Travis Logie and Jordy Smith won their respective Round 1 heats in the Billabong Pro Tahiti, which started in epic 1.5 to 2 metre waves at Teahupoo on Saturday, to move directly into Round 3 of stop No. 5 of 11 on the 2011 ASP World Title season.

Logie, 32, currently No. 44 on the ASP World Rankings, gained entry into the Billabong Pro Tahiti at the 11th hour with the withdrawal of Bobby Martinez (USA). The Durbanite embarked on a white-knuckle trip from Europe to Tahiti, showing up with less than 10 hours before his heat and without any of his surfboards or equipment.
“I got the call about 24 hours ago from Renato Hickel (ASP World Tour Manager) and got on the next plane from Europe,” Logie said. “I was over there competing in the 6-Star events and opted to take the opportunity in Tahiti. I don’t have any boards or any equipment so I used my good friend Alain Riou’s board his morning and it felt pretty good.”

Logie posted a heat tally of 16.07 (out of 20), the fourth highest of the day, to dispatch Jadson Andre (BRA) and No. 4 seed Jeremy Flores to the cutthroat man-on-man Round 2 heats.
Smith, 23, the current No. 2 on the ASP World Title Rankings, kept his 2011 campaign red-hot today, putting on a commanding backhand performance en route to his Round 1 victory. The Capetonian was enthusiastic with today’s conditions and excited for the swell on the horizon.
“I’ve been here most of the day and I’ve just been psyching to get out there,” Smith said. “It’s so much fun – just perfect, blue barrels. I’m so happy to be here in Tahiti and the forecast looks pretty amazing. We’ll see how it pans out.”
Smith’s two wave tally of 15.36 was the ninth best of the day and enough to relegate trials winner and wildcard Ricardo dos Santos (BRA) and Raoni Monteiro (BRA) to Round 2.

American CJ Hobgood, the 2001 ASP World Champion and 2004 Tahiti event winner, was the top scorer of Round 1, racking up a near perfect score of 9.87 (out of 10) before adding a 9.50 for a heat total of 19.37 to defeat current ASP World Title Race No. 1 Joel Parkinson and fellow Australian Adam Melling.

Kelly Slater (USA), 39, reigning and 10-time ASP World Champion, was at his usual polished best, remaining patient to score a winning wave on the buzzer against opponents Dan Ross (AUS) and dangerous local wildcard Heiarii Williams (PYF).

Surfline, official forecasters for the Billabong Pro Tahiti, predict plenty of swell for the next week. A medium SSW swell will maintain through the weekend to be followed by another medium size South swell for early next week. A major swell event is forecast for 25 & 26 August with potential for even more swell by the 28th.

Event organizers will reconvene on Sunday morning at 6:30am (6.30pm South African time) to assess conditions for a possible 7:30am start (7.30pm in SA).

When competition resumes, the opening heat of elimination Round 2 will feature Jeremy Flores (FRA) versus Heiarii Williams (PYF).

All the action from the Billabong Pro Tahiti can be followed live on www.billabongpro.com. Tahiti is situated at GMT -10, i.e. 12 hours behind South Africa. 8am in Tahiti is 8pm in SA.

Heat 1: Cory Lopez (USA) 12.83, Adrian Buchan (AUS) 11.47, Chris Davidson (AUS) 4.67
Heat 2: Fredrick Patacchia (HAW) 15.83, Matt Wilkinson (AUS) 14.73, Taj Burrow (AUS) 13.27
Heat 3: Travis Logie (ZAF) 16.07, Jadson Andre (BRA) 14.40, Jeremy Flores (FRA) 11.73
Heat 4: Mick Fanning (AUS) 15.23, Gabe Kling (USA) 13.97, Tiago Pires (PRT) 7.97
Heat 5: Jordy Smith (ZAF) 15.36, Ricardo dos Santos (BRA) 14.47, Raoni Monteiro (BRA) 8.47
Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA) 13.96, Daniel Ross (AUS) 13.07, Heiarii Williams (PYF) 10.47
Heat 7: Kai Otton (AUS) 11.47, Heitor Alves (BRA) 10.53, Owen Wright (AUS) 10.33
Heat 8: C.J. Hobgood (USA) 19.38, Joel Parkinson (AUS) 15.60, Adam Melling (AUS) 10.33
Heat 9: Taylor Knox (USA) 12.90, Alejo Muniz (BRA) 12.53, Bede Durbidge (AUS) 11.10
Heat 10: Damien Hobgood (USA) 13.73, Patrick Gudauskas (USA) 13.10, Brett Simpson (USA) 8.83
Heat 11: Dusty Payne (HAW) 16.76, Kieren Perrow (AUS) 15.63, Michel Bourez (PYF) 15.17
Heat 12: Julian Wilson (AUS) 16.50, Josh Kerr (AUS) 15.84, Adriano de Souza (BRA) 10.27
Heat 1: Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. Heiarii Williams (PYF)
Heat 2: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Ricardo dos Santos (BRA)
Heat 3: Adrian Buchan (AUS) vs. Gabe Kling (USA)
Heat 4: Owen Wright (AUS) vs. Adam Melling (AUS)
Heat 5: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. Brett Simpson (USA)
Heat 6: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. Josh Kerr (AUS)
Heat 7: Michel Bourez (PYF) vs. Daniel Ross (AUS)
Heat 8: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. Raoni Monteiro (BRA)
Heat 9: Kieren Perrow (AUS) vs. Tiago Pires (PRT)
Heat 10: Patrick Gudauskas (USA) vs. Jadson Andre (BRA)
Heat 11: Alejo Muniz (BRA) vs. Matt Wilkinson (AUS)
Heat 12: Heitor Alves (BRA) vs. Chris Davidson (AUS)


Issued on behalf of:

ASP Africa
Contact:            Colin Fitch – Operations Manager
Tel:                   021 534 5738
Email:               colin@aspafrica.com

Compiled & Distributed by:

Life’s a Beach Communications
PO Box 48272, Kommetjie 7976, South Africa
Tel:              +27 (0) 21 783 4965
Fax:             +27 (0) 86 684 6250
Mobile:         +27 (0) 82 423 1964
Email:           lifesabeach@mweb.co.za

About ASP: The Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) is the recognized world governing body of professional surfing and has been crowning surfing’s undisputed World Champions since 1976. The ASP sanctions and crowns World Champions for the following tours: the ASP World Tour, the ASP Women’s World Tour, ASP World Junior Tour, ASP World Longboard and Masters Championships.
The ASP is dedicated to showcasing the world’s best surfing talent in a variety of progressive formats and has revolutionized the way the world watches surfing via their webcasts and other media platforms. The organization is divided into seven different regions: Africa, Japan, Australasia, Europe, Hawaii, North America, and South America.

Comments are closed.