Home > ASP Tour > Travis Logie & Jordy Smith in action at Billabong Pro Santa Catarina this afternoon

Travis Logie & Jordy Smith in action at Billabong Pro Santa Catarina this afternoon

April 28th, 2010

Pictured: Travis Logie (Durban) in action during his Round 2 win over Kai Otton (AUS) at the Billabong Pro Santa Catarina on Sunday. Photo: ASP / Kirstin

PRAIA DA VILA, Santa Catarina/Brazil (Wednesday, April 28, 2010) – With clean three-to-four foot (1 metre) waves on offer at the primary site of Praia da Vila Brazil, the Billabong Pro Santa Catarina has been called on today with the opening heat of Round 3 hitting the water at 7:15am (12h15 South African time).

Event No. 3 of 10 on the 2010 ASP World Tour, the Billabong Pro Santa Catarina expects a massive day of competition, preparing to run the 16 heats of Round 3 as well as the first four heats of Round 4.

“The surf has increased today and it’s the cleanest we’ve seen it so we’re planning an early start of 7:15am,” Richie Porta, ASP International Head Judge, said. “We’ll be monitoring conditions, but if it remains like this we’re planning to run all of Round 3 and the first half of Round 4.”

South Africans Travis Logie and Jordy Smith, both from Durban, will be in action during Round 3 which will be webcast live via http://www.aspworldtour.com/santacatarina

Logie, who won his first heat on the ASP World Title Tour this year when he defeated Kai Otton (AUS) in Round 2 on Sunday, will be up against current ASP World No. 1, Taj Burrow (AUS) in Heat No. 8, which is scheduled to start at approximately 4.15pm SA time.

Smith, currently No. 3 on the ASP World Title rankings, advanced directly to Round 3 by winning his opening three-man encounter. Smith takes on Ben Dunn (AUS) in Heat 15 today at approximately 7.45pm SA time.

For more information, log onto www.aspworldtour.com


Heat 1: Bobby Martinez (USA) vs. Luke Munro (AUS)
Heat 2: Damien Hobgood (USA) vs. Jadson Andre (BRA)
Heat 3: Kieren Perrow (AUS) vs. Michel Bourez (PYF)
Heat 4: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. Matt Wilkinson (AUS)
Heat 5: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. Patrick Gudauskas (USA)
Heat 6: Dane Reynolds (USA) vs. Kekoa Bacalso (HAW)
Heat 7: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Tom Whitaker (AUS)
Heat 8: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Travis Logie (ZAF)
Heat 9: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Neco Padaratz (BRA)
Heat 10: Taylor Knox (USA) vs. Tiago Pires (PRT)
Heat 11: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. Owen Wright (AUS)
Heat 12: Fredrick Patacchia (HAW) vs. Jeremy Flores (FRA)
Heat 13: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Tanner Gudauskas (USA)
Heat 14: Chris Davidson (AUS) vs. Daniel Ross (AUS)
Heat 15: Jordy Smith (ZAF) vs. Ben Dunn (AUS)
Heat 16: Adrian Buchan (AUS) vs. Roy Powers (HAW)


Issued on behalf of:

ASP Africa
Contact: Colin Fitch – Operations Manager
Tel: 021 534 5738
Email: colin@aspafrica.com

Compiled & Distributed by:

Life’s a Beach Communications
PO Box 48272, Kommetjie 7976, South Africa
Tel: +27 (0) 21 783 4965
Fax: +27 (0) 86 684 6250
Mobile: +27 (0) 82 423 1964
Email: lifesabeach@mweb.co.za

About ASP:

The Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) is the governing body of professional surfing. Crowning surfing’s undisputed world champions since 1976, the ASP sanctions the following tours: the ASP World Tour, the ASP Women’s World Tour, the World Qualifying Series (WQS) and the World Longboarding, Junior and Masters Championships. The ASP is dedicated to showcasing the world’s best surfing talent in a variety of progressive formats and has revolutionized the way the world watches surfing via their webcasts. The organization is divided into seven different regions: Africa, Asia, Australasia, Europe, Hawaii, North America, and South America.

Comments are closed.