Home > ASP Tour, Contests > Travis Logie matches career best result with third place finish at O’Neill Coldwater Classic

Travis Logie matches career best result with third place finish at O’Neill Coldwater Classic

November 7th, 2012

South Africa’s Travis Logie matched his career best result on the ASP World Championship Tour (WCT) when he surfed his way into third place at the O’Neill Coldwater Classic at Steamer Lane in Santa Cruz, California, yesterday (Tuesday).

Needing a big result to re-qualify for the 2013 WCT, Logie was in devastating form in the two metre plus waves on the final day of the event, dispatching giant-killer Raoni Monteiro (BRA) in Round 5 and WCT rankings leader Joel Parkinson (AUS) in the quarter-finals before being ousted by eventual winner Taj Burrow (AUS) in their semi-final encounter.

“I’m pretty stoked with how I surfed in this event,” Logie said after his exit. “I’m really disappointed because I had one really good score (8.33 out of 10) in that heat and I feel like I just needed an average one to make it through. Taj has been ripping though and congratulations to him.”

Logie, who entered the O’Neill Coldwater Classic ranked 26th, vaults up the rankings to 17th, well inside the cut off point of 22 who automatically re-qualify for a spot on the following year’s elite tour, with just one event at Pipeline in Hawaii still to be run.

“This result is huge for me,” Logie said. “These points are massive. I was looking pretty out of it going in to this event and a third place here shoots me quite a bit up the rankings. I’m still not home and dry, but hopefully in Hawaii I can make up some points.”

Logie earned US $17 500 (approx. R150 000) and a priceless 6 500 points which also elevated him to 10th place on the ASP World rankings where the top 10 who have not already qualified via their WCT rankings, also qualify for the WCT. With two Prime rated events scheduled for Hawaii, the 33 year-old Durbanite is guaranteed an additional 500 points on these rankings just by entering.

Burrow built momentum through the event and took out three goofy-foot standouts on the final day with an amazing variety of forehand manoeuvres, toppling young Brazilian Gabriel Medina (BRA), 18, Logie and then compatriot and good friend Matt Wilkinson in the final.

Burrow’s win marks his second of the season after snatching the opening event on the Gold Coast of Australia. Western Australia’s favourite son now sits at No. 6 on the 2012 ASP WCT rankings.

“I really wanted to win another event this year, especially since I’m out of the race for the title,” Burrow said. “That’s pretty depressing, but I’m really happy that it just fell into place here in Santa Cruz. To get two wins in a year, I’ve only done that once before so I’m really happy.”

Wilkinson, a former winner at the venue when it hosted a Prime rated event in 2010, continued his lethal backhand assault at Steamer Lane, belting the day’s highest heat total of 17.73 while defeating Adriano de Souza (BRA), 25, and Michel Bourez (PYF), 26, to attain his first ASP WCT Final appearance.

“I was stoked when I made it through the third round,” Wilkinson said. “Every heat after that, I just kept building. I felt amazing. I was getting 9’s and backing them up. All year I’ve been dropping one big score. Out here, I felt like I was getting better every heat. I had that one (in the final) that would have been a 9 if I made it out of that last turn.”

Heading into the final event of the year, three surfers remain mathematically in contention for the 2012 ASP World Title: Joel Parkinson, Kelly Slater (USA) and Mick Fanning (AUS).

Highlights from the O’Neill Coldwater Classic are available at www.oneill.com/cwc/

The final stop on the 2012 ASP World Championship Tour will be the Billabong Pipeline Masters from December 8 – 20, 2012.

For more information, log onto www.ASPWorldTour.com

1 – Taj Burrow (AUS) 13.10
2 – Matt Wilkinson (AUS) 12.70

SF 1: Taj Burrow (AUS) 14.57 def. Travis Logie (ZAF) 12.40
SF 2: Matt Wilkinson (AUS) 17.73 def. Michel Bourez (PYF) 12.10

QF 1: Taj Burrow (AUS) 13.83 def. Gabriel Medina (BRA) 8.60
QF 2: Travis Logie (ZAF) 13.83 def. Joel Parkinson (AUS) 13.00
QF 3: Michel Bourez (PYF) 16.27 def. Jeremy Flores (FRA) 12.50
QF 4: Matt Wilkinson (AUS) 13.07 def. Adriano de Souza (BRA) 11.83

Heat 1: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 13.16 def. Alejo Muniz (BRA) 6.70
Heat 2: Travis Logie (ZAF) 10.50 def. Raoni Monteiro (BRA) 8.90
Heat 3: Michel Bourez (PYF) 15.00 def. Damien Hobgood (USA) 8.00
Heat 4: Adriano de Souza (BRA) 10.50 def. Kelly Slater (USA) 9.40

CURRENT ASP WCT TOP 5 (After O’Neill Coldwater Classic):
1. Joel Parkinson (AUS) 53,900 pts
2. Kelly Slater (USA) 50,700 pts
3. Mick Fanning (AUS) 47,000 pts
4. John John Florence (HAW) 44,350 pts
5. Adriano de Souza (BRA) 42,350 pts

South Africans
12. Jordy Smith 26,650 pts
17. Travis Logie 16,250 pts


Pictured: Travis Logie (Durban) blasts off the lip at Steamer Lane on his way 3rd place in the O’Neill Coldwater Classic in California on Tuesday

Photo: ASP / Kirstin
Issued on behalf of:

ASP Africa
Contact: Colin Fitch – Operations Manager
Tel: 021 534 5738
Email: colin@aspafrica.com

Compiled and Distributed by:

Life’s a Beach Communications
PO Box 48272, Kommetjie 7976, South Africa
Tel: +27 (0) 21 783 4965
Mobile: +27 (0) 82 423 1964
Email: lifesabeach@mweb.co.za
About ASP: The Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) is the recognized world governing body of professional surfing and has been crowning surfing’s undisputed World Champions since 1976. The ASP sanctions and crowns World Champions for the following tours: the ASP World Tour, the ASP Women’s World Tour, ASP World Junior Tour, ASP World Longboard and Masters Championships. The ASP is dedicated to showcasing the world’s best surfing talent in a variety of progressive formats and has revolutionized the way the world watches surfing via their webcasts and other media platforms. The organization is divided into seven different regions: Africa, Japan, Australasia, Europe, Hawaii, North America, and South America.

Comments are closed.