Home > ASP Tour > Wildcard Sean Holmes into Round 3 as Billabong Pro J-Bay gets underway on Day 2

Wildcard Sean Holmes into Round 3 as Billabong Pro J-Bay gets underway on Day 2

July 16th, 2010

Pictured: Sean Holmes displays his tube riding prowess at Supertubes on Day 1 of the Billabong Pro J-Bay 2010. The Cape Town based wildcard won his Round 2 heat and will be up against Kelly Slater (USA), the top seed and 9 x ASP World Champion, in Round 3. Image Credit: © Karen / Billabong

Giant-killing South African Sean Holmes again justified his reputation as the ‘uber-wildcard’ by eliminating current World No. 4 Jadson Andre (BRA) to progress to Round 3 when the Billabong Pro J-Bay got underway in 1 to 1.5 metre offshore waves at Supertubes in Jeffreys Bay this morning.

In a tightly contested encounter Holmes led from start to finish, counting scores of 6.0 and 7.50 to outpoint the young Brazilian who won the last stop on the ASP World Tour in his home country in May. The victory sets Holmes up for a highly anticipated clash with current World No. 1 and 9 x ASP World Champion Kelly Slater (USA) in the next round.

“Certainly, any heat in this competition can be difficult,” Holmes commented on his heat against Andre. “Even though Jadson (Andre) hasn’t had a lot of experience here he’s still an excellent surfer. He won the last event at home in Brazil so I wasn’t taking him lightly. That said, I certainly back myself at Jeffreys. I feel comfortable out here in any conditions and I’m happy to advance through.”

“I’ve been looking for the barrel for the past two heats but the conditions haven’t really been conducive to it. Of course I prefer it to be a bit bigger as it suits my surfing better. Conditions permitting, it looks like I may have another heat today so I’ll be focusing on that one before I get too far ahead of myself.”

First light saw clear skies and clean waves peeling down the point with contest director Mike Parsons, head judge Richie Porta and the surfers’ representatives debating whether to run the single or the overlapping dual heat format. While the dual format significantly reduces the time required to complete the event and enables the organisers to make optimum use of the best surf conditions, the inconsistent nature of the bigger set waves eventually settled the matter in favour of the single heat format.

“We have another beautiful day of swell on offer this morning and we’ll be commencing as soon as possible with the first heat looking to start around 7:30am,” Porta, ASP International Head Judge, said. “We’re running 30-minute heats at the moment, but will monitor conditions to see if there is an opportunity to run the Dual Heat System and take advantage of the surf we have today.”

The intention is to run the remaining 14 heats of Round 2 today and, surf permitting, continuing on into the opening heats of Round 3 which would see several of the top seeds in action before nightfall.

All the action from the Billabong Pro J-Bay can be viewed live at www.billabongpro.com and also on your mobile phone at www.asptogo.com or download the iPhone application ASP ToGo from www.apple/iphone/ . Live and highlights footage is available on the channels of Fuel TV (on Top TV in South Africa).

The 2010 Billabong Pro J-Bay has a waiting period that runs from 15-25 July and is proudly supported by Eastern Cape Tourism, Virgin Atlantic, Monster Energy, Vida e Caffe, Corona and Tavcor

Billabong Pro J-Bay 2010
Round 2 Results:
(Winner to R3; Loser eliminated in equal 33rd place; 500 pts; US $5 500)
Heat 3: Sean Holmes (Cape Town) 13.50 def. Jadson Andre (BRA) 11.07
Heat 4: Joan Duru (FRA) 13.83 def. Taylor Knox (USA) 11.50
Heat 5: Tim Reyes (USA) 13.34 def. C.J. Hobgood (USA) 13.23
Heat 6: Michel Bourez (PYF) 11.86 def. Blake Thornton (AUS) 11.50

Remaining Round 2 Match-ups:
Heat 7: Damien Hobgood (USA) vs. Marco Polo (BRA)
Heat 8: Kieren Perrow (AUS) vs. Jay Thompson (AUS)
Heat 9: Roy Powers (HAW) vs. Neco Padaratz (BRA)
Heat 10: Tom Whitaker (AUS) vs. Tanner Gudauskas (USA)
Heat 11: Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. Brett Simpson (USA)
Heat 12: Daniel Ross (AUS) vs. Dusty Payne (HAW)
Heat 13: Luke Stedman (AUS) vs. Drew Courtney (AUS)
Heat 14: Luke Munro (AUS) vs. Travis Logie (ZAF)
Heat 15: Pat Gudauskas (USA) vs. Ben Dunn (AUS)
Heat 16: Dean Morrison (AUS) vs. Mick Campbell (AUS)


Issued on behalf of:

Billabong South Africa
Contact: Brendon Kegel
Telephone: +27 (0) 42 200 2747
Email: brendon.kegel@billabong.co.za

Compiled and issued by:

Life’s a Beach Communications
PO Box 48272, Kommetjie 7976, South Africa
Tel: +27 (0) 21 783 4965
Fax: +27 (0) 86 684 6250
Mobile: +27 (0) 82 423 1964
Email: lifesabeach@mweb.co.za

Comments are closed.