Home > ASP Tour > World’s Best Junior Surfers to Assemble in Bali for Oakley ASP World Pro Junior

World’s Best Junior Surfers to Assemble in Bali for Oakley ASP World Pro Junior

September 19th, 2010

Photo: Shaun Joubert is the No. 9 seed for the Oakley ASP World Pro Junior, the highest ranked competitor from ASP Africa. Photo: Kolesky / Oakley

KERAMAS, Bali/Indonesia (Wednesday, September 29, 2010) -The Oakley ASP World Pro Junior, the opening stop on the 2010 ASP World Junior Tour (WJT), will commence its waiting period this weekend in Bali, ushering in the greatest assemblage of junior surfing talent from around the globe.

Surfing young guns Conner Coffin (USA) and Keala Naihe (Haw) will challenge the world’s best junior surfers in arguably one of the world’s best high-performance waves after being awarded wildcards into the high stakes event, which will run at Keramas from October 2-13 and offer a prize pool of US $95,000.

With a surfing attack built on power and topped with an increasingly progressive repertoire, Coffin, 17, is looking to add to his trophy case with a big result in the tournament.

Coffin, who has an amazingly smooth, clean, and powerful pointbreak style, was raised in Santa Barbara’s legendary point breaks, and should ultimately put him in good stead at the right-hand waves of Keramas.

In Round 1, Coffin will come up against Kiron Jabour (HAW) and Chris Salisbury (AUS).

Naihe is also positioned well for an impressive showing at the prestigious tournament and will face Marc Lacomare (FRA) and Charles Martin (GLP) in Round 1 of competition.

Ronny Nelson, Oakley Sports Marketing Manager, is excited to see Conner and Naihe lineup in the event.

“Choosing wildcards is always a hard thing to do, there are so many options out there but at the end of the day you need to look at who will do well or even win the event,” he said.

“In my eyes, I feel that Conner and Keala will best represent Oakley and have a great chance to win. Conner’s explosive surfing in punchy waves will be his advantage while the smooth finesse surfing and knowledge of reef breaks will suit Keala in Bali. Oakley is really happy that Conner and Keala are competing in the first event of two to help crown a legitimate ASP World Junior champion.

Similar to years past, athletes compete on their respective regional ASP Pro Junior Series throughout the season to qualify for the ASP World Junior Tour. Qualification for the ASP WJT is based on regional results from January 1 through August 31, 2010.

The inaugural ASP World Junior Tour will see six representatives from ASP Australasia, ASP South America, ASP North America and ASP Europe, five representatives from ASP Africa, ASP Hawaii and ASP Japan, and additional wildcards to make up the 48-man field.

The ASP World Junior Tour events will also feature an 18-woman field, which will crown the undisputed ASP Women’s World Junior Champion.

The undisputed ASP World Junior Champions will be the No. 1 ranked male and female surfer after the completion of the ASP World Junior Tour.

The Oakley ASP World Pro Junior will be webcast LIVE via www.oakleyprojunior.com

For more information, log onto www.aspworldtour.com

Heat 1:Brendon Gibbens (ZAF), Alex Smith (HAW), Jack Freestone (AUS)
Heat 2: Shaun Joubert (ZAF), Peterson Crisanto (BRA), Keanu Asing (HAW)
Heat 3: Caio Ibelli (BRA), Tyler Newton (USA), Mitch Crews (AUS)
Heat 4: Kiron Jabour (HAW), Chris Salisbury (AUS), Conner Coffin (USA)
Heat 5: Maxime Huscenot (FRA), Guillermo Satt (CHL), Enrique Ariitu (PYF)
Heat 6: Nat Young (USA), Dean Bowen (AUS), Ramzi Boukhiam (MAR)
Heat 7: Miguel Pupo (BRA), Jesse Mendes (BRA), Takumi Nakamura (JPN)
Heat 8: Alejo Muniz (BRA), Krystian Kymerson (BRA), TBC
Heat 9: Marc Lacomare (FRA), Charles Martin (GLP), Keala Naihe (HAW)
Heat 10: Granger Larsen (HAW), Dale Staples (ZAF), Tom Cloarec (FRA)
Heat 11: Davey Cathels (AUS), Luke Davis (USA), Kaimana Jaquias (HAW)
Heat 12: Beyrick De Vries (ZAF), Felipe Jervis (PRT), Hiroto Arai (JPN)
Heat 13: Kolohe Andino (USA), Albee Layer (HAW), Andrew Doheny (USA)
Heat 14: Chad Du Toit (ZAF), Kaito Ohashi (JPN), Evan Thompson (USA)
Heat 15: Nic Von Rupp (DEU), Ryan Callinan (AUS), Kento Takahashi (JPN)
Heat 16: Evan Geiselman (USA), Ty Watson (AUS), Arashi Kato (JPN)

Heat 1:Pauline Ado (FRA), Alizee Arnaud (FRA), Nao Omura (JPN)
Heat 2: Sage Erickson (USA), Chantelle Rautenback (ZAF), Alessa Quizon (HAW)
Heat 3: Laura Enever (AUS), Lakey Peterson (USA), Minato Takahashi (JPN)
Heat 4: Courtney Conlogue (USA), Airini Mason (NZL), Camila Cassia (BRA)
Heat 5: Tyler Wright (AUS), Leila Hurst (HAW), Diana Cristina (BRA)
Heat 6: Bianca Buitendag (ZAF), Felicity Palmateer (AUS), Malia Manuel (HAW)

– Oakley ASP World Pro Junior, Bali/Indonesia – October 2 – 13, 2010
– Billabong ASP World Junior Championships, Australia – January 8 – 16, 2011

2009:Maxime Huscenot (REU), Laura Enever (AUS)
2008: Kai Barger (HAW), Pauline Ado (FRA)
2007: Pablo Paulino (BRA), Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS)
2006: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Nicola Atherton (AUS)
2005: Kekoa Bacalso (HAW), Jessi Miley-Dyer (AUS)
2004: Pablo Paulino (BRA)
2003: Adriano de Souza (BRA)
2002: N/A
2001: Joel Parkinson (AUS)
2000: Pedro Henrique (BRA)
1999: Joel Parkinson (AUS)
1998: Andy Irons (HAW)


Visit the Press Room on www.aspworldtour.com for news, images, transcribed athlete interviews and more.

Association of Surfing Professionals(ASP) Media (On-Site)
Contact: Jake White
Email: jake@surfingaustralia.com
AUS mobile: +61 (0) 422 987 069

Contact: “JJ”
Email: jj@premiummedia.com.au

Digital Photographs:
High-resolution digital images for newspapers and Internet sites are available via the ASP Digital Images Department – please contact kirstin@aspworldtour.com or steve@surfingaustralia.com

For Immediate Release

Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) International


About ASP: The Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) is the recognized world governing body of professional surfing and has been crowning surfing’s undisputed World Champions since 1976. The ASP sanctions and crowns World Champions for the following tours: the ASP World Tour, the ASP Women’s World Tour, ASP World Junior Tour, ASP World Longboard and Masters Championships. The ASP is dedicated to showcasing the world’s best surfing talent in a variety of progressive formats and has revolutionized the way the world watches surfing via their webcasts and other media platforms. The organization is divided into seven different regions: Africa, Japan, Australasia, Europe, Hawaii, North America, and South America.

Association of Surfing Professionals
72-80 Marine Parade | Coolangatta, QLD 4225

Comments are closed.