Home > Contests > Youth brigade tear into Jeffreys Bay on Day 2 of the RVCA Junior Surf Series

Youth brigade tear into Jeffreys Bay on Day 2 of the RVCA Junior Surf Series

March 23rd, 2013
Sebastian Williams (Mexico) in action at J-Bay Point on Day 2 of the RVCA Junior Series  Photo: Richard Johnson

Sebastian Williams (Mexico) in action at J-Bay Point on Day 2 of the RVCA Junior Series Photo: Richard Johnson

Competitors in the RVCA Junior Series tore into the waves peeling down the fabled point at Jeffreys Bay on Saturday, posting outstanding rides and high scores on Day 2 of the event.

As the wind dropped and one metre waves swept into the bay, the U14 boys went ballistic with Adin Masencamp (Strand), 13, recording the highest heat tally of the event, 16.5 out of a possible 20, while Sebastian Williams (Mexico), 12, flew through the best aerial manoeuvre seen so far.

The day’s action got off to a delayed start as organisers waited for the tide to fill in and the opening round of the U20 boys were given 25 minute heats. Most of the seeded surfers advanced with the likes of Slade Prestwich (Durban North), Mikey February (Kommetjie), Jeffreys Bay locals Steven Sawyer and Dylan Lightfoot and Max Armstrong (Scarborough) delivering impressive heat victories in the small waves and strong offshore wind.

Emma Smith (J-Bay) was the standout in the U20 girls, racking up rides of 8.25 and 7.0, each out of 10, to take the early lead in the chase for the highest heat total and was joined in the semi-finals by fellow heat winners Nicole Pallet (La Lucia), Tahra Uren (J-Bay) and surprise package Roxy Giles (George), along with their respective runners-up.

SA U15 champion Chrystal Hulett (St Francis Bay) was outstanding in the U16 girls division, convincingly winning her quarter-final with rides of 6.5 and 5.75 and progressing to the semis where she will be challenged by the likes of Anoush Zakarian (Melkbosstrand), Cana Foster (Umdloti) and Teal Hogg (Umhlanga).

There were upsets galore in the U16 boys with the J-Bay trio of Jerry van Wyk, Tim Baard and Bernard Pretorious, along with Simo Mhkise (Umzumbe), ousted by U14 stars Masencamp, Williams, Ethan Fletcher (Kommetjie) and Jake Elkington (Hout Bay). The younger contingent was joined in the semis by heat winners Steff Burrows (Stellenbosch) and Alex van Rijswick (Port Elizabeth) and second placed Jordy Maree (Kalk Bay) and Michael Monk (East London).

Masencamp, one of the front-runners for the ‘On Fire’ awards, and Williams, whose air-reverse leads the standings for the ‘Fly-Away’ award, are pitted against each other and the Kom duo of Fletcher and Brage Jorgenson in the first of the U14 semi-finals.

The second semi is made up of Koby Oberholzer (Warner Beach), Ford Van Jaarsveldt (Kommetjie) and J-Bay’s Rewaldo Abersalie and Arnold Vermaak.

The U12 semis include Kommetjie’s York van Jaarsveldt and Manoa Robb, J-Bay’s Angelo Faulkner and Jannick Bouwer, Saxton Randall (Durban), Max Elkington (Hout Bay), Julian Zens (Melkbos) and Karl Steen (Morningside).

The U10 final will be contested by Alex Townsend (Cape Town), Christian Venter (Melkbos), James Ribbink (Durban North) and Viviers Strydom (George).

Alongside the stunning performances in the surf, competitors and spectators alike followed legendary artist Steven Bibb’s lead by spray painting Plascon graphics onto the graffiti wall on the beach, and often on each other, utilising the table tennis table and exercise bikes and test riding the selection of Firewire demonstration surfboards.

The finals in all seven divisions will be run on Sunday to decide the recipients for the more than R100 000 in cash, prizes and special awards at stake.

Special awards for the top performers in the waves include the ‘On-Fire’ awards where two competitors each receive a Firewire surfboard: the ‘Fly-Away’ award comprising a trip for two to Jeffreys Bay courtesy of J-Bay Travel and African Perfection; the highest heat score earns an Apple iPad and custom-built Nixon accessories; the biggest carve wins a Sector 9 skateboard and all division winners get a set of Futures Fins.

All activities will be filmed and the photos and videos will be available for free download.

The RVCA Junior Series is sanctioned by Surfing South Africa (SSA), recognised as the national controlling body for surfing and a member of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and the International Surfing Association (ISA). The events form part of the Pro Surf Tour (PST) with competitors in all the divisions earning points towards their 2013 PST rankings.

The RVCA Junior Series can be followed on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/RVCA.South.Africa


Issued on behalf of:

RVCA South Africa
Contact: Robin Kietzmann
Ph: 042 293 2199
E: robinrvca@gmail.com

Compiled & distributed by:

Life’s a Beach Communications
PO Box 48272, Kommetjie 7976, South Africa
Tel: +27 (0) 21 783 4965
Mobile: +27 (0) 82 423 1964

Comments are closed.